Weekly Reading List #12


By: Cynthia Ayala

Hey there readers! I hope that every had a wonderful week and weekend and made time to watch Jurassic World, which was, in one word, amazing! But enough of that, a full review will be coming soon. In any case dear readers, here is my weekly reading list. Happy reading!

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer

1. Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

    by Marissa Meyer

So I’m already a few chapters in and I’ve already been one over. I just love fairy tales! Sometimes I wish my life were a fairy tale. Then I think of Virginia from The 10th Kingdom and them I remember how glad I am to not be living in a real fairy tale where evil is well…much like reality. Hmm, maybe I should rethink this; I do after all already have my prince charming.

Sorry, sorry, I know I ramble. Anyway, here is the official synopsis courtesy of Goodreads:

“Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. 

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.”

Survive the Night by Danielle Vega

2. Survive the Night

    by Danielle Vega

So I got this book via a free galley from Penguin Books First to Read program. The novel itself isn’t set to come out until July 7, 2015. When I saw the cover I instantly thought of the movie the Purge, because look at it, people have to survive twelve hours of night, they have to stay alive and the title and design of it just made me think of that. Therefore, while I wasn’t a fan of the movie, this novel did intrigue me. Then I read the synopsis and I was hooked so I am very excited to read it already.

“We’re all gonna die down here. . . .

Julie lies dead and disemboweled in a dank, black subway tunnel, red-eyed rats nibbling at her fingers. Her friends think she’s just off with some guy—no one could hear her getting torn apart over the sound of pulsing music.

In a tunnel nearby, Casey regrets coming to Survive the Night, the all-night underground rave in the New York City subway. Her best friend Shana talked her into it, even though Casey just got out of rehab. Alone and lost in the dark, creepy tunnels, Casey doesn’t think Survive the Night could get any worse . . .

. . . until she comes across Julie’s body, and the party turns deadly.

Desperate for help, Casey and her friends find themselves running through the putrid subway system, searching for a way out. But every manhole is sealed shut, and every noise echoes eerily in the dark, reminding them they’re not alone.

They’re being hunted.

Trapped underground with someone—or something—out to get them, Casey can’t help but listen to her friend’s terrified refrain: ‘We’re all gonna die down here. . . .'” (courtesy of Goodreads)

I dare you to tell me that it doesn’t tickle your fancy even a little bit.

Hood (King Raven, #1) by Stephen R. Lawhead

3. Hood (King Raven, #1)

    by Stephen R. Lawhead

Who doesn’t love a good Robin Hood retelling? I have been passing this book by for years in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy section of Barnes and Noble, Also staring at it, always intrigued by its cover. This is another book that I am finally making the time for, no question about it, and I can’t wait to bring to you guys my latest in reviews.

This synopsis is brought to you by Barnes & Noble, which had a more detailed telling of what exactly is in this novel.

“Robin Hood: The Legend Begins Anew

For centuries, the legend of Robin Hood and his band of thieves has captivated the imagination. Now the familiar tale takes on new life, fresh meaning, and an unexpected setting.

Hunted like an animal by Norman invaders, Bran ap Brychan, heir to the throne of Elfael, has abandoned his father’s kingdom and fled to the greenwood. There, in a primeval forest of the Welsh borders, danger surrounds him–for this woodland is a living, breathing entity with mysterious powers and secrets, and Bran must find a way to make it his own if he is to survive.

Steeped in Celtic mythology and the political intrigue of medieval Britain, Stephen R. Lawhead conjures up an ancient past and holds a mirror to contemporary realities. Prepare yourself for an epic tale that dares to shatter everything you thought you knew about Robin Hood.”

So what’s on your reading list you guys? Have any suggestions or comments of what I’m reading, let me know. Have a nice week!

Let me know what you think :)

